A Pet Weave

I may have to take a personal weave day which is better than being absent without weave. No heavy weaving while on the phone, okay? Excuse me while I reweave myself.

You’ve been warned that I like to play with words, and yet you keep reading. Thank you.

I’ll stop now.

Okay, when I last wrote, I was sinking into a dark place and trying to save myself from falling. (See Sleeping with Harold under Messed up Stars – 2/18/2012)  This time my source of self therapy was in weaving a rug. Thus said rug ended up a total fail, ripped out and rolled into a ball of fabric with plans for reweaving. I relate this to life and how when I mess up, I must learn what I’ve done wrong and just start over.

This week has been better. 

 I think the snow helped.

Yes, I said snow. It only lasted a few hours, but it was absolutely beautiful.

Radnor Lake

We enjoyed a long, snowy walk in the woods at Radnor Lake State Natural Area . It’s one of our favorite places and although it’s relatively close to the city, it’s a nice little oasis of tranquility. It truly is a treasure. All three of us share fond memories of Radnor. Alli was a member of the Junior Rangers program there for several summers, and we have been walking there for years and years. I sometimes feel like I know every plant and tree along the Lake Trail.

It’s no surprise that in one of my dreams this week I am walking with Larry in the woods. We come upon a museum in the forest. I am very excited to share its treasures with Larry, since he has never been there before. After our visit, we continue on our way along the path and it suddenly turns into solid ice. People are skating on it and we notice an outdoor skating rink with a place to rent skates. Larry insists we skate. The helper takes Larry’s shoes and hands him a pair of skates. He takes my shoes and hands me a toaster.

This is so weird, but then again so familiar.  I think it was the same location and same era as my life in the English countryside. (See Dream State Championships -12/08/11) But really. A toaster?

The next interesting dream I had was another one with Mom. The two of us are hiking in what seems to be Bryce Canyon. It’s hot and quiet and there is no one around. We squeeze through a tight place in the trail between rock formations. In front of us is a vertical wall of red rock. Thinking it was impossible, I turn to go back when Mom grabs my shoulder and says, “We can do this. Come on.” And she proceeds to go for a hand hold and pull herself up on the rock wall. I joined her, and together, hand hold after hand hold and good footing we make it to the top.

I really don’t know about my crazy dreams, but both of these (minus the toaster) were comforting.

Back to reweaving…Well, I frowned at that yarn ball of a rug for several days, then I tackled it one more time, sure that I knew what mistakes I had made. I worked hard to correct them this time.

Guess what?

Fail #2.

Can you believe it? Grrrrrrrrr I was pretty bummed. I had Larry help me pull and tug at it, and still, I had another sombrero/dog bed on my hands. I had to walk away from it.

I gave it a couple of days, then I ripped that rug out again, and this time I found the missing ingredient.

It was sunshine!

Last Sunday we had snow. Today it was spring like and in the 60’s. I took that darn rug out on the deck and rewove it with the sun in my face, and the birds singing in the trees and my dog by my side. As I wove the last rows, I kept thinking how it looked like it was going to lie flat this time. I tried to forget basket weaving which I’m used to, where it must be woven tightly, and I wove loosely this time. What if it was another fail? Would I even want to try again?

Yes, I would. I’m not one to give up. Besides, I have another project waiting in the wings and I can’t bring myself to begin something until I complete what I’m working on. That’s a huge pet weave of mine. ☺

-Libby Lu

P.S. Third time was a charm. The rug is complete and I’m happy with it. Also on other news this week – a miracle has occurred. Alli called and chatted for 40 minutes. We caught up on the news and she never once asked for money! Sweet.

