WHAT are you going to do?

What are you going to do?

If someone asks that question one more time….

Two weeks from now, we will be delivering our only child to college.

1,000 miles away.

I won’t go into detail (Well, you KNOW I will…) but I’m obsessed with my child.
I admit it.

Crew, Party of 3

Crew, party of three!

But, I do have an excuse – We waited a very long time for her. It was an 8 year labor and delivery to be exact. Unexplained infertility, a miscarriage and a few failed adoptions kept us waiting until our Punky came along in 1993. I have been in love with her since the day her birth-mother placed her in my arms. Parenting took priority, 18 years have flown by, and here we are perched on the edge of an almost empty nest.

And everyone is expecting me to have a nervous breakdown. To be honest, it will surprise me if I don’t crack a little. But really! I do have a life, you know?

I do! There are books and articles to write, closets to clean, paintings to paint, wires to sculpt, photos to take, miles to walk, birds to watch, friends to visit, a husband to rediscover (blush blush), chocolates to eat, wine to taste, and a cute little dog to spoil.

But, it’s true…I’ve never done well with change. It scares me when my life is out-of-order.

It’s a cruel act of nature that about the time menopause hits, your parents begin rapidly aging, and then your child goes away. And you grow a beard. (Seriously. What is it with the body hair?) It’s just too much at one time. Who the heck thought of this time-frame? It’s a fail.

It is.

I don’t like it one bit.

So, the vultures are waiting to see the spectacle…waiting for the guys in the white coats to haul me away in a straight jacket, watching my every move for signs that I am losing it. They shake their heads in pity.
I am determined to keep my sanity. I must.
I have a dog to raise.

BB

Bella Bunny

So, about that question…What am I going to do?
Well, it’s not move-in day yet. We have 2 weeks left.
Answer: I choose to enjoy these last days with Punky at home. I’ll worry about my nervous breakdown later. (I’ll keep you posted!)

Be happy!

-Libby Lu

8 thoughts on “WHAT are you going to do?

  1. Hi Libby,

    Love your blog and while Niles “left” years ago, I am reminded of empty nest every time he comes to visit and then leaves. It is not bad, it is just an adjustment each time. While I watched he and his fiance open their shower gifts this weekend, I got teary. Will not be the last time, I am sure. I know you will love your next journey – it is ALL good! Miss you guys!

  2. Hi Libby 🙂 I’ll be thinking of you and ally and Larry during this new change. I’m not a fan of change either but it helps us grow. I love your writing 🙂 keep it up 🙂 also, bunco was a blast! It was great to spend time with u two! Hope too see you soon!

    • Thanks, Sarah! You suggested that I join the blogging world many years ago. Finally took your advice! Thanks for the compliments! Bunko was a blast, for sure! Must do it again! Love you! L.

Leave a Reply

